Escape of Lyman radiation from galactic labyrinths

participants of the
            conference Lyman2023

Abstract booklet

The genesis and escape of Lyman alpha and continuum radiation on galactic and subgalactic scales is a result of a complex and subtle interplay between the dynamical constituents of evolving galaxies. Our knowledge on how Lyman radiation produced by massive stars, AGN and shocks is further processed within a galaxy is woefully incomplete.

On subgalactic scales, the pathways of Lyman photons from young stellar clusters and HII regions into the surrounding diffuse ionized gas, and their imprints on the physical properties of the multi-phase ISM are still unclear. On galactic scales, the scattering Odyssey of Lyman-alpha photons from their birthplace out to the galactic halo remains to be written. How feedback processes shape the 3D structure, chemical abundance patterns and kinematics of the gas along this route, and what mechanisms regulate the escape of Lyman radiation out of the galaxy Labyrinth is an unsolved enigma. The escape fraction of Lyman radiation along the co-evolution of AGN with their galaxy hosts is another subject with key astrophysical relevance where our knowledge is still largely incomplete. A final question concerns how escaping Lyman radiation can illuminate the cosmic web and influence the evolution of galaxies across larger cosmic volumes.

The goal of this meeting is to bring observers and theoreticians together toward a joint exploration of the Odyssey of Lyman radiation on its way out of the galaxy Labyrinth.

This conference is motivated by questions such as:

i.   Production of Lyman radiation
ii.  Transport of Lyman radiation on subgalactic scales
iii. Lyman photon escape in star-forming galaxies
iv.  Observing facilities with special importance to the understanding of Lyman photon escape

Invited speakers
Andrea Ferrara   (Scuola Normale Superiore, Italy)
Andrea Grazian   (INAF–Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova, Italy)
Andreas Sander   (ZAH, University of Heidelberg, Germany)
Anne Jaskot      (Department of Astronomy, Williams College, USA)
Anne Verhamme    (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Fabrice Martins  (Université de Montpellier, France)
Jan Eldridge     (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
Jorryt Matthee   (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
Joseph Lewis     (ZAH, University of Heidelberg, Germany)
Matthew Hayes    (Stockholm University)
Maxime Trebitsch (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
Peter Senchyna   (Carnegie Observatories, USA)
Ricardo Amorín   (University of La Serena, Chile)
Rogier Windhorst (Arizona State University, USA)